The Spill

October 14, 2013

I was sitting in engineering 110 and listening to the professor’s lecture. There was about 20 minutes of class left when we were dismissed. I gathered my stuff and got up to leave. Just as I was about to pick up my cup of coffee, it toppled over. Everything seemed to be going in slow motion and I froze. One second I was about to leave, and the next there was a huge puddle of coffee all over the table.I quickly gathered my thoughts and my mind screamed at me for being an idiot.

I looked around the room, most of the students had left, only a few were talking to the professor about a project. thankfully, there was a bathroom right outside the room. So, for the next ten minutes, i ran from and to the bathroom gathering paper towels and cleaning up the table. I finally wiped the last bit down, and cleaned it off with a wet paper towel to remove the stickiness. I was almost finished when my professor came up to me. I looked up and realized that all the other students had left. “Oh, you’ve got it all cleaned up, that’s good,” he said, then before turning away, he added “hey, at least it smells good in here,” he smiled. I think I was read as a tomato. I quickly grabbed my bag and what remained of my coffee and ran to my next class.

Need I say, I was extra carefull with coffee from then.

-Shanzida Khandaker

Leave a Reply

